What's the best aluminum-free deodorant?

Eight aluminum-free deodorants compared on ingredients, baking soda, format, price per ounce and stated protection: Native, Each & Every, Dr. Squatch, Oars & Alps, Salt & Stone, Lume and WhollyKaw. Prices checked September 2026.

9 min left

There is no single best aluminum-free deodorant, and any page that names one is selling something. We sell one too: WhollyKaw makes eight aluminum-free roll-ons, so read this as a comparison written by a maker, with the conflict of interest stated up front. What we can do that a review site cannot is read every ingredient deck line by line, say plainly where ours loses, and not pretend that "baking-soda-free" is still a rare feature. It is not.

Short version: if you want a stick, Native is the value benchmark and Native Sensitive is the safe default for reactive skin. If you want the longest stated protection, Lume and Each & Every state 72 hours. If you want a men's fragrance rather than coconut and vanilla, it comes down to Dr. Squatch or WhollyKaw, and ours is the only roll-on in the group. If you are shopping for luxury packaging and don't mind baking soda, Salt & Stone. Details, and the table, below.

Best aluminum-free deodorant by use case

Aluminum-free deodorant comparison table

Ingredients, sizes and prices were read from each brand's own product page on 16 September 2026. Prices change; treat the per-ounce column as a snapshot.

ProductPrice / size$ per ozFormatOdor-control approachBaking sodaStated protection
Native Deodorant Stick (Coconut & Vanilla)$14 / 2.65 oz$5.28StickMagnesium oxide, piroctone olamine, tapioca starch, cyclodextrinNo (reformulated)Up to 72 h
Native Sensitive$14 / 2.65 oz$5.28StickMagnesium hydroxide, magnesium carbonate, tapioca starchNoUp to 72 h
Each & Every$22 / 2.5 oz$8.80StickMagnesium hydroxide, tapioca starch, essential oilsNo72 h
Dr. Squatch (Cool Fresh Aloe)$11 to $13n/aStickMagnesium hydroxide, triethyl citrate, charcoal, lactobacillus ferment, arrowrootNoNot stated
Oars & Alps (Bergamot Grove)$14n/aGel stickSodium stearate and propanediol gel, aloe, corn starchNoNot stated
Salt & Stone Natural Deodorant$20 / 2.6 oz$7.69StickMagnesium, spirulina, niacinamideYes (regular formula; a sensitive version omits it)48 h
Lume Cream Deodorant Stick$15 / 2.2 oz$6.82Cream stickMandelic acid (an AHA, low pH)No72 h
WhollyKaw Green Tea (Dermatologist Tested)$17.99 / 3.04 fl oz (90 ml)$5.92Roll-onGreen tea polyphenols, Saccharomyces ferment filtrate, triethyl citrate, sage oilNo18 h

Where a size is not listed, the brand's product page did not state it at the time of reading and we did not guess. Dr. Squatch and Oars & Alps therefore have no per-ounce figure.

How we compared them

We chose seven brands that show up on page one for this search and that publish a full ingredient list on their own site, then read each list ourselves. We did not run wear tests, so the "stated protection" column is exactly that: what each brand states, not what we measured. Two brands you might expect here, Harry's and Dove Men+Care 0% Aluminum, were left out because we could not read their ingredient decks from the brand's own page, and we did not want to fill the gap from third-party listings.

The criteria are the ones that actually separate these products: what does the odor control, whether baking soda is present, the format (stick, gel, cream or roll-on), price per ounce and the protection claim. Scent is a preference, so it appears in the notes rather than the table.

Notes on each brand

Native

The category's volume leader, and the most interesting change in this group: the current Coconut & Vanilla stick lists magnesium oxide and piroctone olamine rather than sodium bicarbonate, and the product page now says "free of baking soda." If you tried Native years ago and reacted to it, the formula you reacted to is gone. The Sensitive line uses magnesium hydroxide instead. Both are $14 for 2.65 oz, the lowest cost per ounce in the table.

Each & Every

Magnesium hydroxide, tapioca starch and essential-oil scents, EWG Verified, and a 72-hour claim. It is the most expensive product here at $22 for 2.5 oz. If a third-party ingredient certification is what you want to pay for, this is the one that has it.

Dr. Squatch

The closest thing to a direct competitor to ours on scent: pine, aloe and charcoal profiles aimed at men. The deck runs magnesium hydroxide, triethyl citrate, charcoal, a lactobacillus ferment and arrowroot, with beeswax and shea for the stick body. Triethyl citrate is also in our formula; it is the ingredient both brands use for the enzyme side of odor rather than the bacteria side. No protection claim is stated on the page we read.

Oars & Alps

A clear gel stick built on sodium stearate and propanediol with aloe and corn starch. The brand's own page explains why it skips baking soda and talc: staining. If white marks on dark shirts are your main complaint about sticks, this is the format that addresses it. $14, sale-priced at $12.60 when we looked.

Salt & Stone

The luxury entry: $20 for 2.6 oz, a 48-hour claim, spirulina and niacinamide in the deck and the best packaging in the group. It is also the one regular formula here that still contains sodium bicarbonate. The brand sells a sensitive-skin version without it; check which one you are buying.

Lume

A different mechanism from everyone else: mandelic acid, an alpha-hydroxy acid, which keeps the product at a low pH. Sold as a whole-body deodorant, $15 for a 2.2 oz cream stick, with a 72-hour claim. Lume also sells a separate "Sweat Control" line that uses aluminum salts, so read the label if aluminum-free is the point.

WhollyKaw

Ours. Eight scents, one formula base, $17.99 for a 90 ml roll-on, made in the USA. The odor control comes from a dry-distilled green tea extract (Camellia sinensis leaf, processed to keep the polyphenol fraction and leave out terpenes and resins), a Saccharomyces ferment filtrate, and triethyl citrate. There is no starch, wax or powder because it is a liquid. It goes on clear and does not mark clothing. The Green Tea version is dermatologist tested. The stated protection is 18 hours per application.

Where WhollyKaw wins, and where it loses

Wins. It is the only roll-on in the group, which is why it leaves nothing on fabric and why the formula is built on liquid actives rather than absorbent powders. It is the only one in the group with a dermatologist-tested claim on its product page. Six of the seven competitors lean on magnesium salts and one on an AHA; ours is the only one built on green tea polyphenols and a yeast ferment, sharing triethyl citrate only with Dr. Squatch. And the scents are made by the same perfumery as our shave soaps and aftershaves, so a Jamestown Gentleman deodorant matches a Jamestown Gentleman shave. At $5.92 per ounce it sits between Native and Lume.

Loses. Our stated protection, 18 hours, is the shortest claim in the table; we state what our product page states and have not run the testing that would let us claim 72. A roll-on is wet on application and needs a moment to dry, which a stick does not. We do not make an unscented version, a whole-body version, or a stick, and Native, Oars & Alps and Lume each cover at least one of those. There is no starch in ours, so it does nothing for wetness. And "aluminum-free and baking-soda-free," which used to be our headline, is now true of six of the seven other products here.

Is baking-soda-free still worth checking for?

Yes, but it is no longer a differentiator. Sodium bicarbonate was the original natural-deodorant active because it raises the pH of the underarm, and for some people it is exactly the ingredient that causes redness and itching. Most of the direct-to-consumer brands have moved to magnesium hydroxide or magnesium oxide, which do a similar job at a milder pH, and Native has reformulated its main line. In this group, only Salt & Stone's regular formula still lists it. The practical advice is unchanged: if a "natural" deodorant has ever left your underarms sore, read the deck for sodium bicarbonate before you buy, whatever the front label says.

Deodorant vs antiperspirant

Every product on this page is a deodorant, which the FDA regulates as a cosmetic: it addresses odor. An antiperspirant addresses wetness with aluminum-based compounds and is regulated as an over-the-counter drug. None of these eight will keep you dry, and none of them claims to. If staying dry is the priority, you are shopping in a different aisle. We make no health claims about aluminum in either direction; choosing aluminum-free is a preference, and the FDA page in the sources below explains how the two categories are regulated.

How to choose

  1. Reactive skin, want a stick: Native Sensitive.
  2. Reactive skin, want a roll-on with a dermatologist-tested claim: WhollyKaw Green Tea.
  3. Lowest cost per ounce: Native.
  4. Longest stated protection: Lume or Each & Every (72 hours, their claim).
  5. Dark shirts, hate white marks: Oars & Alps gel, or any roll-on.
  6. Men's fragrance that matches the rest of your routine: WhollyKaw, or Dr. Squatch if you already use their soap.
  7. Luxury packaging, no baking-soda sensitivity: Salt & Stone.
  8. Want to stay dry: none of these. Buy an antiperspirant.

The eight WhollyKaw scents

All eight share the roll-on formula above and cost $17.99 for 90 ml. Green Tea (Dermatologist Tested) is the sensitive-skin pick with a light green-tea and sage profile. Vor V is the everyday scented all-rounder. Jamestown Gentleman is the classic barbershop scent, King of Oud the boldest, Fougère Bouquet the green classical fougère and La Fougère Parfaite the polished take on the same family. Man from Mayfair is the British heritage scent and Chypre Rose Concerto the floral chypre. The scents are marketed to men; the formula is not gendered, and a floral chypre or a green tea roll-on reads as unisex.

Disclaimer. These products are cosmetics. Statements about ingredients describe published information from each brand's product page and do not constitute medical claims. None of the products on this page has been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration for any health effect, and none is intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Competitor ingredient lists and prices were read on 16 September 2026 and may have changed.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best aluminum-free deodorant for men?

For a men's fragrance profile it comes down to Dr. Squatch (stick; magnesium hydroxide, triethyl citrate, charcoal) or WhollyKaw (roll-on; green tea polyphenols, yeast ferment, triethyl citrate, eight perfumery scents). Dr. Squatch is cheaper at $11 to $13; WhollyKaw is $17.99 for 90 ml and is the only roll-on in our comparison. If scent does not matter, Native at $14 for 2.65 oz is the value pick.

What is the best aluminum-free deodorant for women?

The same table applies; none of these formulas is gendered. Native, Native Sensitive, Each & Every, Salt & Stone and Lume are marketed as unisex. WhollyKaw's scents are marketed to men, but Green Tea and Chypre Rose Concerto read as unisex. For sensitive skin, Native Sensitive (stick) or WhollyKaw Green Tea (roll-on, dermatologist tested) are the conservative choices.

Which aluminum-free deodorants have no baking soda?

Of the eight compared, seven: Native (reformulated), Native Sensitive, Each & Every, Dr. Squatch, Oars & Alps, Lume and all eight WhollyKaw scents. Salt & Stone's regular formula still contains sodium bicarbonate; the brand sells a sensitive-skin version without it.

Does aluminum-free deodorant actually work?

For odor, yes, by different routes: magnesium salts (Native, Each & Every, Dr. Squatch, Salt & Stone), an alpha-hydroxy acid (Lume) or green tea polyphenols with a yeast ferment and triethyl citrate (WhollyKaw). For wetness, no. Only an antiperspirant, which uses aluminum compounds and is regulated as a drug, reduces sweat. See our page on whether aluminum-free deodorant works for the longer answer.

Is WhollyKaw the best aluminum-free deodorant?

Not on every axis, and we make it. It is the only roll-on in the group, the only one with a dermatologist-tested claim on its product page, and the only one built on green tea polyphenols. It also has the shortest stated protection (18 hours against 48 to 72 hour claims elsewhere), no unscented or stick option, and it is not the cheapest per ounce. It is the right pick if you want a roll-on, a men's fragrance that matches a shave routine, or a dermatologist-tested formula for sensitive skin.

Why did Native drop baking soda?

We can only report what the product page says: the current Coconut & Vanilla stick lists magnesium oxide and piroctone olamine and is described as free of baking soda. Sodium bicarbonate is the ingredient most often blamed for irritation from natural deodorants, and most direct-to-consumer brands have moved to magnesium compounds. Native has not published its reasoning on the page we read.

Sources

  1. FDA: Is It a Cosmetic, a Drug, or Both? (Or Is It Soap?) · FDA
  2. Native Deodorant Stick, Coconut & Vanilla (product page, ingredients and price) · Native
  3. Native Sensitive Deodorant Stick (product page) · Native
  4. Each & Every Lavender & Lemon deodorant (product page) · Each & Every
  5. Dr. Squatch Cool Fresh Aloe deodorant (product page) · Dr. Squatch
  6. Oars & Alps Bergamot Grove aluminum-free deodorant (product page) · Oars & Alps
  7. Salt & Stone Natural Deodorant (product page) · Salt & Stone
  8. Lume Clean Tangerine cream deodorant stick (product page) · Lume
  9. WhollyKaw Green Tea Deodorant, Dermatologist Tested (product page) · WhollyKaw