What's the best shaving cream for men?

Best shaving cream for men compared by ingredient list, base chemistry, SLS, brush or brushless and price per ounce: Cremo, Proraso, Harry's, WhollyKaw.

19 min left

The best shaving cream for men depends on one thing, brush or no brush. With a brush, the label-reading answer is a soap cream: Proraso Refreshing at $1.92 an ounce is the classic, and WhollyKaw La Supérieure is the concentrated one, with water twelfth on its list instead of first. If you shave with your hands, Harry's at $1.33 an ounce and Cremo at $1.50 are the tube creams the reviewers and Google's AI answers keep naming, and they are built differently from each other.

If you want no fragrance of any kind, it is WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin or Aveeno Therapeutic. The cheapest ounce comes from a can, Barbasol at about $0.49, and it is the only product in this comparison with sodium lauryl sulfate on the label.

There is no single best shaving cream, and any page that names one is selling something. WhollyKaw makes five, so read this as a comparison written by a maker with the conflict of interest stated up front. What a maker can do that a magazine round-up cannot is transcribe every ingredient list in label order, sort each product by its chemistry rather than by what the tube says, work out the price per ounce, and say plainly when its own product is not the pick. Seven brands are compared against WhollyKaw's five creams, twelve products in all, and most of the picks are not WhollyKaw.

Disclaimer. Every product on this page is a cosmetic. Statements about ingredients describe what each brand prints on its own product page and do not constitute medical claims. None of these products has been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration for any health effect, and none is intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Competitor ingredient lists and prices were read on 20 September 2026 and may have changed.

Which shaving cream for which shave

Shaving cream comparison table

The best shaving cream comparison is the one you can check against the tube. Ingredients, sizes and prices were read from each brand's own product page on 20 September 2026. Barbasol and Aveeno do not sell on their own sites, so their prices are Amazon listings from the same day and are marked as such. "Base" is what the ingredient order says, not what the packaging says. Prices change; treat the per-ounce column as a snapshot.

Shaving cream comparison by label, prices read 20 September 2026
ProductPrice / size$ per oz (weight; * = per fl oz)Base, from the labelFirst three ingredientsSLS or SLESScent sourceBrushContainer
Barbasol Original Thick & RichAmazon: $9.79 for two 10 oz cans$0.49 (Amazon)Aerosol foamWater, stearic acid, triethanolamineYes (sodium lauryl sulfate)FragranceBrushless (can)Aerosol can
Aveeno Therapeutic Shave GelAmazon multipacks: $20.69 for two, $25.40 for three 7 oz cans$1.21 to $1.48 (Amazon)Aerosol gelWater, palmitic acid, triethanolamineNoNone (fragrance free)Brushless (can)Aerosol can
Harry's Shave Cream$8.00 / 6 oz$1.33Soap cream with a sulfoacetateWater, palmitic acid, aloe leaf juiceNoEssential oils (eucalyptus, peppermint)BrushlessTube
Cremo Original$8.99 / 6 oz$1.50Surfactant creamWater, sodium cocoyl isethionate, palmitic acidNoFragranceBrushlessTube
Pacific Shaving Caffeinated$11.99 / 7 oz (also $9.99 / 3.4 oz)$1.71Soap creamWater, aloe leaf juice, myristic acidNoSpearmint oil, mentholNot statedTube
Proraso Refreshing (green)$10.00 / 5.2 oz (150 ml)$1.92Soap creamWater, stearic acid, coconut oilNoParfum plus menthol, camphor, eucalyptolNot stated (brush cream by tradition)Tube
WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom Peppermint Eucalyptus$13.99 / 150 ml (5.07 fl oz)$2.76*Soap creamWater, glycerin, stearic acidNoEssential oils (eucalyptus, peppermint)Brush or brushlessTub
Jack Black Supreme Cream$30.00 / 9.5 oz jar; $24.00 / 6 oz; $14.00 / 2.6 oz$3.16 to $5.38Soap cream with a siliconePalmitic acid, myristic acid, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate (leading items as read)NoEssential oils (rosemary, geranium, chamomile)Brush or fingertipsJar or tube
WhollyKaw La Supérieure (Dulci Tobacco, Peach Karma, DFS 2021)$21.99 / 150 g (5.29 oz)$4.16Hybrid (concentrated soap-surfactant)Potassium cocoate, sodium methyl 2-sulfolaurate, stearic acidNoFragranceBrushTub
WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin Shaving Cream$28.99 / 150 g (5.29 oz)$5.48Hybrid (concentrated soap-surfactant)Potassium cocoate, sodium methyl 2-sulfolaurate, stearic acidNoNone (fragrance free)Brushless (page) or brushTub

Rows are ordered by price per ounce. Ten rows cover twelve products: the three La Supérieure scents share a row because they share one formula, and Jack Black's three sizes share a row. WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom is sold by volume (150 ml), so its figure is per fluid ounce; every other row is by weight.

How we compared them

To find the best shaving cream for men by the label, we took the brands that appear on the first two pages of Google for this search and in the AI-generated answers above the results, kept the ones that print a full ingredient list on their own website, and read each list ourselves. Of eight Google AI answers to "best shaving cream" that we sampled on 20 September 2026, Cremo was named in all eight, Harry's in seven, Proraso in five, Jack Black in four. Taylor of Old Bond Street's site blocks automated reads and Castle Forbes prints no ingredient list, so neither is in this comparison despite being the traditional brush creams the forums name most. Kiehl's returned an error, Vanicream's page showed no ingredient list, and Gillette Foamy, Edge, Nivea, Dollar Shave Club, Art of Shaving, Bevel and the women's creams were not read.

We have not used the competitor creams. Nothing on this page describes how another brand's lather feels, how long it holds, or how it rinses, because we did not test that and would rather leave the column blank than fill it from memory. The columns are the ones you can verify from the label: what the base is, which ingredients lead, whether sodium lauryl or laureth sulfate is present, where the scent comes from, whether the brand says brush or hands, what the container is, and what it costs per ounce.

Shaving cream ingredients: how to read the label

Shaving cream ingredients fall into three kinds of base, and the ingredient order tells you which one you are holding.

Soap cream, surfactant cream, or aerosol

A soap cream lists fatty acids (stearic, myristic, palmitic, lauric, or coconut acid) and an alkali (potassium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, or triethanolamine) near the top. The two react into soap, which is what builds a brush lather. Proraso, Pacific Shaving, Harry's, Jack Black and WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom are all this. A surfactant cream has no alkali; a synthetic surfactant such as sodium cocoyl isethionate does the work, and the product is spread rather than lathered. Cremo is the clean example in this comparison. An aerosol is a triethanolamine soap thinned with water and pushed out by isobutane, propane or isopentane, which flash off on the skin. Barbasol and Aveeno are aerosols; Aveeno's is sold as a gel.

WhollyKaw La Supérieure and Sensitive Skin are a fourth kind, a hybrid: potassium cocoate and stearic acid with potassium hydroxide, plus a taurate, two betaines and two glucosides high in the list, and water only twelfth. That is why an almond-sized amount is the whole dose and why the directions call for a brush.

What "sulfate-free" does and does not mean

When a shaving cream is labelled "sulfate-free", the ingredients being promised absent are sodium lauryl sulfate and sodium laureth sulfate, the SLS and SLES column in the table. Only Barbasol Original lists one. Other sulfur-containing surfactants are not the same molecule: Harry's lists sodium lauryl sulfoacetate and sodium sulfate; WhollyKaw La Supérieure and Sensitive Skin list sodium methyl 2-sulfolaurate, a sulfonate, and sulfated castor oil, the sulfated oil known as Turkey red oil. None of those is SLS or SLES, which is why this page says "no SLS or SLES" rather than "sulfate-free." Our own product pages currently say "no chemical sulfates," and we are rewording them to match.

Essential oil, parfum, or nothing

The scent line tells you the source. Named oils (eucalyptus globulus leaf oil, mentha piperita oil, spearmint leaf oil) are essential oils: Harry's, Pacific Shaving, Jack Black and Warrior Kingdom. "Fragrance" or "parfum" is a blend that is not itemised: Cremo, Barbasol, La Supérieure, and Proraso, which lists parfum and then menthol, camphor and eucalyptol separately. No scent line at all means fragrance free: Aveeno and WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin. Essential oils are not automatically the gentler choice; menthol and eucalyptol are the cooling agents people either want or avoid. Our page on essential oil vs fragrance oil covers the difference.

Brushless shaving cream, brush cream, or either

A brush aerates a soap cream into a dense lather and lifts the hair; hands spread a brushless shaving cream into a slick film. The label usually says which the maker intends. Cremo, Harry's, Barbasol and Aveeno are brushless by design. Jack Black says fingertips or a brush. WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom gives both methods on the page, and Sensitive Skin is written for hands but lathers with a brush too, since it shares the La Supérieure base, which is written for a brush. Proraso and Pacific Shaving are soap creams whose pages do not state a method, and we have not tested them. If you are choosing your first brush, boar vs badger vs synthetic and how to lather cover the rest.

The razor matters as much as the brush. A cartridge razor is forgiving of a thin film, which is why the brushless tubes and cans are built around it. A safety razor has one exposed edge and rewards a lather with body under the blade (cushion) and a wet film on the skin (glide), which is what a brush-built soap cream provides; Wirecutter's own note on Proraso is "if you use a safety razor." Cushion and glide are properties of the lather, not promises about your skin, and this page does not rate any competitor's lather because we have not built one from their tubes.

Notes on each product

Ordered by price per ounce, cheapest first, the same order as the table. The best shaving cream for men in each row is the one whose label matches the razor and the method you already use.

Barbasol Original Thick & Rich (aerosol)

Water, stearic acid, triethanolamine, isobutane, laureth-23, sodium lauryl sulfate, propane, fragrance. Eight ingredients, two of them propellants. Ten-ounce can of shaving cream; the brand site does not sell it, and Amazon listed two cans for $9.79 on 20 September 2026, about 49 cents an ounce. Where it is the pick: price, and no brush or bowl needed. Where it is not: it is the only product in this comparison with sodium lauryl sulfate on the label, and the can does not work with a brush.

Aveeno Therapeutic Shave Gel (aerosol gel)

Water, palmitic acid, triethanolamine, isopentane, sorbitol, stearic acid, glycerin, sorbitan stearate, isobutane, then oat kernel flour, a silicone (PEG-12 dimethicone), methyl-, propyl- and ethylparaben, panthenol, aloe and allantoin. Fragrance free. Wirecutter's budget pick. Seven-ounce can of shaving gel; the brand site does not sell it, and Amazon's offers on 20 September 2026 were multipacks working out to $1.21 to $1.48 an ounce. Where it is the pick: fragrance-free and cheap. Where it is not: three parabens and two propellants, if you are reading labels for those.

Harry's Shave Cream (soap cream with a sulfoacetate)

Water, palmitic acid, aloe leaf juice, myristic acid, potassium hydroxide, glycerin, stearic acid, sodium lauryl sulfoacetate, then coconut oil, rice bran, eucalyptus and peppermint oils, cucumber, marula, licorice root and a long tail that includes sodium sulfate and a cooling agent, menthoxypropanediol. No fragrance line; the scent is the oils. $8.00 for 6 oz, $1.33 an ounce, the cheapest tube of shaving cream in the comparison. GQ's overall pick. Where it is the pick: price per ounce in a tube, essential-oil scent. Where it is not: the longest list in the group, and it is written for hands, not a brush.

Cremo Original (surfactant cream)

Water, sodium cocoyl isethionate, palmitic acid, stearic acid, cetearyl alcohol, glycol distearate, coconut acid, sodium isethionate, fragrance, then macadamia oil, allantoin, aloe, calendula, xylitol and fruit extracts. No potassium or sodium hydroxide anywhere, so nothing is saponified; the isethionate is the surfactant, and the page's instruction is to rub it in with water for 30 seconds rather than lather it. $8.99 for 6 oz, $1.50 an ounce, tube. Named in all eight AI answers we sampled and Amazon's number-one shave cream in its sensitive version. Where it is the pick: brushless slickness at a drugstore price. Where it is not: it is not made to lather with a brush, and the r/wicked_edge thread's top complaint is a reformulation; we cannot verify what changed.

Pacific Shaving Caffeinated (soap cream)

Water, organic aloe leaf juice, myristic acid, stearic acid, potassium hydroxide, glycerin, caffeine, shea butter, sunflower oil, spearmint oil, tocopheryl acetate, then menthol and preservatives. Soap cream with a shea and sunflower fat phase. $11.99 for 7 oz ($1.71 an ounce) or $9.99 for 3.4 oz. Sharpologist's mass-market pick, Amazon's number seven. Where it is the pick: a shea-butter soap cream at a tube price with named oils. Where it is not: the page does not say brush or hands, and spearmint plus menthol is a cooling profile, not a neutral one.

Proraso Refreshing, green tube (soap cream)

Water, stearic acid, coconut oil, potassium hydroxide, glycerin, lactic acid, sodium hydroxide, parfum, menthol, camphor, eucalyptol, eucalyptus oil, then clays and a chelator. A straightforward soap cream, made by what the page calls a hot-soap process and matured three days. The page states no parabens, phthalates, silicones, mineral oils, artificial colors or SLS, and made in Italy. $10.00 for 150 ml (5.2 oz), $1.92 an ounce. Named in five of eight AI answers; Wirecutter's safety-razor recommendation. Where it is the pick: the classic brush cream at a tube price. Where it is not: three cooling agents on one label, menthol, camphor and eucalyptol, and the scent is parfum rather than named oils.

WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom Peppermint Eucalyptus (soap cream)

Water, glycerin, stearic acid, myristic acid, sodium taurate, potassium hydroxide, palmitic acid, lauric acid, then glycol distearate, a glyceryl cocoate, aloe, tocopheryl acetate, sunflower oil, eucalyptus and peppermint oils, and six named botanicals: licorice root, centella, Baikal skullcap, Japanese knotweed, chamomile and green tea. A saponified soap cream with no sulfates, no SLS or SLES, scented by essential oils only, vegan, paraben free, no dyes. The page gives both a brush method and a brushless one. $13.99 for 150 ml, about $2.76 per fluid ounce, tub. Where it is the pick: an essential-oil soap cream that works either way, under $15, with every botanical named on the label. Where it is not: if you want no cooling at all, peppermint oil carries menthol.

Jack Black Supreme Cream (soap cream with a silicone)

Palmitic acid, myristic acid, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, stearic acid, potassium hydroxide, glycerin, lauric acid, then organic soybean and jojoba oils, macadamia oil, rosemary, geranium and chamomile oils, edelweiss and calendula extracts, and cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone near the end. Sold as a "shave lather," fingertips or brush. $14.00 for 2.6 oz ($5.38 an ounce), $24.00 for 6 oz ($4.00), $30.00 for a 9.5 oz jar ($3.16). Wirecutter's top pick. Where it is the pick: a silicone on a real soap base, and the jar size brings the per-ounce price into line with the soap creams. Where it is not: at 2.6 oz it is the most expensive competitor ounce in the table, and the page notes the ingredients "may change."

WhollyKaw La Supérieure: Dulci Tobacco, Peach Karma, DFS 2021 (hybrid)

One formula in three scents. Potassium cocoate, sodium methyl 2-sulfolaurate, stearic acid, sodium methyl cocoyl taurate, glycerol monostearate, glycerin, propanediol, cetyl betaine, alkyl polyglucoside, decyl glucoside, cocamidopropyl betaine, then water, potassium hydroxide, olive oil, sulfated castor oil, cottonseed oil, and a tail of emulsifiers, preservatives, sunflower oil, beta-carotene and vitamin E. Water is the twelfth ingredient, which is what "concentrated" means for this cream: an almond-sized amount is the dose, and the directions call for a brush. No SLS or SLES, no parabens, no dyes; the line is vegan. Scents: Dulci Tobacco (tonka bean, plum, sandalwood, cashmeran), Peach Karma (peach), DFS 2021 (aromatic, opening on a bitter spicy note). $21.99 for 150 g (5.29 oz), $4.16 an ounce, tub. Where it is the pick: a concentrated brush cream with the full deck printed, at a per-ounce price between Proraso and Jack Black. Where it is not: it is written for a brush, and the scent is a fragrance blend rather than named oils.

WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin Shaving Cream (hybrid)

The La Supérieure base with green tea leaf extract added and the fragrance line removed. Fragrance free, essential-oil free, parfum free, paraben free, vegan, per the page. The page's directions are brushless, an almond-sized amount smeared and worked in; it lathers with a brush too, since the base is the same. $28.99 for 150 g (5.29 oz), $5.48 an ounce, tub. Where it is the pick: the only fragrance-free product in this comparison that is not an aerosol, with every ingredient printed. Sensitive Skin Shaving Cream. Where it is not: it carries the highest sticker price per ounce in this comparison, before the almond-sized dose is counted; the cost per shave page prices the dose.

Where WhollyKaw is not the pick

If you want the cheapest ounce, that is a can: Barbasol at about $0.49 on Amazon, or Aveeno if you want it fragrance free. If you want the cheapest tube, that is Harry's at $1.33 or Cremo at $1.50. If you want a soap cream at a tube price, Proraso at $1.92 and Pacific Shaving at $1.71 are both under two dollars an ounce; WhollyKaw's cheapest is Warrior Kingdom at $2.76 per fluid ounce, and La Supérieure is $4.16.

If you want to buy it at a drugstore or on Amazon today, Cremo, Harry's, Proraso, Jack Black, Pacific Shaving and Barbasol were all on Amazon's shave-cream best-seller list on 20 September 2026. WhollyKaw's creams are sold direct on whollykaw.com.

If you want a concentrated brush cream with no SLS or SLES and the whole ingredient list on the page, an essential-oil soap cream that works with or without a brush for under $15, or a fragrance-free cream that is not an aerosol, that is WhollyKaw.

Best shaving cream for sensitive skin

The best shaving cream for sensitive skin, on the labels alone, is one of the two with no scent line: WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin (a hybrid soap-surfactant cream, brushless, with green tea) or Aveeno Therapeutic (an aerosol gel with oat kernel flour and three parabens). Three label facts decide it:

"Hypoallergenic" is not a defined term on a US cosmetic label, so it tells you nothing the ingredient list does not. Patch-test any new cream on the inner forearm first, and if a rash or persistent redness follows shaving whatever you use, that is a question for a clinician, not a product page. The rest of the variables, blade, pressure, water and post-shave, are in shaving for sensitive skin.

Shaving cream price per ounce, and how long a tub lasts

Ranked by price per ounce, with the two Amazon-priced cans marked:

  1. Barbasol Original, about $0.49 (Amazon, two-pack)
  2. Aveeno Therapeutic, $1.21 to $1.48 (Amazon, multipacks)
  3. Harry's, $1.33
  4. Cremo Original, $1.50
  5. Pacific Shaving Caffeinated 7 oz, $1.71
  6. Proraso Refreshing, $1.92
  7. WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom, $2.76 per fluid ounce
  8. Jack Black Supreme 9.5 oz jar, $3.16 (6 oz $4.00; 2.6 oz $5.38)
  9. WhollyKaw La Supérieure, $4.16
  10. WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin, $5.48

Price per ounce only tells you half of it, because the dose differs. An aerosol dispenses a ball of foam that is mostly air and water; a concentrated cream is dosed by the almond, which is the amount every WhollyKaw page specifies. That is why a 150 g tub of a concentrated cream and a 10 oz can are not the same number of shaves, and why the price-per-ounce ranking is a snapshot of sticker price, not cost per shave. Our cost per shave page runs the arithmetic for our own products; we have not measured the dose of anyone else's. At the almond-sized dose in the directions, a 150 g La Supérieure tub lasts us about 90 shaves, which puts the $21.99 tub at about 24 cents a shave.

Cream, soap, or croap

A shaving soap is the same chemistry as a soap cream with the water taken out: a hard puck you load with a wet brush. A croap is a soft soap that loads like a cream. A cream is the ready-to-lather version. If you already own a brush, a puck is the most concentrated of the three; if you do not, a brushless cream is the simplest thing to buy. Our shaving cream vs shaving soap page compares them, and best shave soap covers the pucks.

Best shaving cream for men: picking without overthinking it

The best shaving cream for men is the one whose label matches how you shave; the list below sorts the twelve by that.

  1. Cheapest, fastest, no brush: Barbasol from a can, knowing it carries SLS; Aveeno if you want the can fragrance free.
  2. Cheapest good tube, essential-oil scent, no brush: Harry's.
  3. Slick rather than foamy, no brush: Cremo.
  4. You own a brush and want the classic: Proraso Refreshing.
  5. You own a brush and want it concentrated, with the whole label printed: WhollyKaw La Supérieure.
  6. Essential-oil cooling, either method, under $15: WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom or Pacific Shaving.
  7. No fragrance at all, not from a can: WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin.
  8. A silicone on a soap base: Jack Black Supreme, in the jar.

Corrections and pending fixes

20 September 2026. This page replaces two earlier versions, a ranking of our own creams and a separate sensitive-skin page, which redirects here. The three La Supérieure creams are 150 g; when this was written two of their product pages printed 100 g and one printed no weight. Dulci Tobacco and Peach Karma were corrected the same day; DFS 2021 is being corrected. Some of our product pages still say "no chemical sulfates" where this page says "no SLS or SLES," and they are being reworded to match. Labels and prices in this best shaving cream for men comparison are re-read when a product page changes. Corrections to customer.care@whollykaw.com.

Disclaimer. Every product on this page is a cosmetic. Statements about ingredients describe what each brand prints on its own product page and do not constitute medical claims. None of these products has been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration for any health effect, and none is intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Competitor ingredient lists and prices were read on 20 September 2026 and may have changed.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best men's shaving cream?

It depends on brush or no brush. With a brush, Proraso Refreshing ($1.92 an ounce) is the classic soap cream and WhollyKaw La Supérieure ($4.16) is the concentrated one with water twelfth on the label. Without a brush, Harry's ($1.33) and Cremo ($1.50) are the tube creams reviewers and AI answers name most; Harry's is a potassium soap cream and Cremo is a surfactant cream that turns slick rather than lathering. Fragrance free: WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin or Aveeno Therapeutic.

What do barbers use for shaving cream?

Traditional barbers use a brush-lathered soap cream; Proraso is the brush cream Wirecutter recommends for safety-razor users, it was named in five of eight Google AI answers sampled on 20 September 2026, and it sells a 500 ml professional tube on its own site. WhollyKaw did not survey barbers. The label pattern to look for is fatty acids plus potassium hydroxide near the top of the list, which is what Proraso, Pacific Shaving, Jack Black and WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom and La Supérieure all have.

What do dermatologists recommend for shaving?

No dermatologist recommendation is made on this page; WhollyKaw is a cosmetics maker and does not give medical advice. What the ingredient lists in the comparison let you do is choose by what the label shows: whether there is a fragrance line, whether menthol or eucalyptol is present, and whether sodium lauryl sulfate is on the label. Two products in the comparison have no scent line (WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin, Aveeno Therapeutic) and only Barbasol lists SLS. If shaving leaves a rash or persistent redness, that is a question for a clinician, not a product page.

Is there one best shaving cream in the world?

No. The twelve shaving creams compared on this page split into four kinds by chemistry: aerosol foams (Barbasol, Aveeno), a surfactant cream (Cremo), soap creams (Proraso, Harry's, Pacific, Jack Black, WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom) and concentrated soap-surfactant hybrids (WhollyKaw La Supérieure, Sensitive Skin). Each suits a different way of shaving. Price per ounce runs from about $0.49 to $5.48 across them, and a can and a concentrated tub do not give the same number of shaves.

Which shaving cream is better, Edge or Gillette?

Neither label was read for this comparison, so neither is ranked. Both are aerosols sold at drugstore prices; Gillette Foamy Classic was Amazon's number-two shave cream on 20 September 2026, $4.49 for 14.9 oz, about $0.30 an ounce. To compare them yourself, use the comparison table's columns: the first three ingredients, whether sodium lauryl or laureth sulfate is listed, the scent line, and price per ounce. Barbasol, the aerosol that was read, lists SLS.

Brush or brushless: what is the difference?

A brush aerates a soap cream into a dense lather; hands spread a surfactant cream into a slick film. Cremo, Harry's, Barbasol and Aveeno are brushless by design. Proraso and Pacific Shaving are soap creams whose pages do not state a method. Jack Black says fingertips or brush. WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom gives both methods, La Supérieure is written for a brush, and Sensitive Skin is written for hands but lathers with a brush because it shares the La Supérieure base.

Which shaving cream is cheapest per ounce?

Barbasol Original, about $0.49 an ounce as a two-pack on Amazon, then Aveeno Therapeutic at $1.21 to $1.48 (Amazon multipacks), Harry's at $1.33 and Cremo at $1.50 on their own sites. Among brush creams, Pacific Shaving is $1.71 and Proraso $1.92. WhollyKaw runs $2.76 (Warrior Kingdom, per fluid ounce) to $5.48 (Sensitive Skin). Sticker price per ounce is not cost per shave: an aerosol dispenses mostly air and water, a concentrated cream is dosed by the almond.

Sources

  1. FDA: Is It a Cosmetic, a Drug, or Both? (Or Is It Soap?) · U.S. Food and Drug Administration · Regulatory definition of cosmetic vs drug claims
  2. Cremo Original Shave Cream (product page, ingredients, size, price) · Cremo · Brand product page, read 2026-09-20
  3. Proraso Shaving Cream Tube, Refreshing (product page, ingredients, size, price) · Proraso USA · Brand product page, read 2026-09-20
  4. Harry's Shave Cream (product page, full ingredient list, sizes, prices) · Harry's · Brand product page, read 2026-09-20
  5. Jack Black Supreme Cream Triple Cushion Shave Lather (product page, ingredients, sizes, prices) · Jack Black · Brand product page, read 2026-09-20
  6. Pacific Shaving Company Caffeinated Shaving Cream (product page, ingredients, sizes, prices) · Pacific Shaving Company · Brand product page, read 2026-09-20
  7. Barbasol Original Thick & Rich Shaving Cream (product page, ingredients, size) · Barbasol · Brand product page, read 2026-09-20
  8. Aveeno Therapeutic Shave Gel (product page, inactive ingredients) · Aveeno · Brand product page, read 2026-09-20
  9. WhollyKaw La Supérieure Dulci Tobacco Shaving Cream (product page) · WhollyKaw · Product page, read 2026-09-20
  10. WhollyKaw Sensitive Skin Shaving Cream with Green Tea, Beta Carotene (product page) · WhollyKaw · Product page, read 2026-09-20
  11. WhollyKaw Warrior Kingdom Peppermint Eucalyptus Shaving Cream (product page) · WhollyKaw · Product page, read 2026-09-20
  12. Wirecutter: The Best Men's Shaving Creams · The New York Times · Editorial round-up updated 2026-06-09; picks cited, read 2026-09-20
  13. GQ: Best Shaving Cream for Men 2026 · GQ · Editorial round-up updated 2026-03-19; pick cited, read 2026-09-20
  14. Sharpologist: Best Shaving Creams, How To Choose The Right One · Sharpologist · Editorial guide updated 2026-05-12; tiers cited, read 2026-09-20
  15. r/wicked_edge: Best Shaving Cream? · Reddit · Community thread; cited for the Cremo reformulation complaint, read 2026-09-20
  16. Amazon Best Sellers: Men's Shaving Creams · Amazon · Best-seller ranks and Amazon prices for Barbasol, Aveeno and Gillette Foamy, read 2026-09-20